Guess what??

I’M MOVING!!!

To Here:

BANCROFT, ON, CANADA

BANCROFT, ONTARIO

Here is the town’s official website, in case you’d like to take a peek!

It’s a quaint little town of around 4,000 people with around 40,000 people in the surrounding area. So, basically I am moving from a City of 150,000 to 4,000. Crazy right??

You might be saying to yourself,,,what the hell is this chick doing moving to God’s country for?

Well let me explain to you why. There is many reason’s.

The day that I lost my job, I arrived home to a nice letter on my apartment door notifying me that my rent was being increased. Lovely.

My daughter then went thru a major depressive and anxiety state, that ended up with her being hospitalized (she’s home now and doing well).

When I turned to who I “thought” were my best friend(s) for support, I learned they weren’t who I thought they were and found myself all alone and wishing I was closer to my family. One morning I found myself venting this wish out loud on the couch and my daughter heard me and said. “Why don’t we do it then, let’s look into it?

I spoke to my parent’s who surprised me by being really supportive and welcoming. So, I pulled up my big girl panties and knowing that it’s hard to find a job up North, I took a day and emailed my resume to every business in town. Surprisingly, I received responses quickly right away. I took a few days vacation and went up for some interviews.

I accepted a job at one of the larger grocery’s stores in town as a Inventory Control Manager on the condition that my start date would not begin until I was released from my Target job so that I could get my measly payout. They worked with me and I start on May 11th. It’s only part-time but I know if I work hard, I will get more hours. I took this particular job because it is unionized and working up there where winter lay offs happen every year I would be ensured not to be laid off and I will eventually get benefits again.

Finding a place to live was more difficult then I anticipated¬† because I don’t have a vehicle I needed to find something in town so I can walk too and from work. I put my faith in my parent’s hands and they went to see a apt in smaller building and based on their opinion I took a leap and took the place. I’m moving into a place I have never seen EEEK!!!

This is a winter pic of the place. Our new home over looks the the York river and it's actually on the same road in the above pic. Simply beautiful country.

This is a winter pic of the place. Our new home over looks the the York river and it’s actually on the same road in the above pic. Simply beautiful country.

We don’t get the new place until May 30th.

I start my new job on May 11th so that means I will be staying with my parent’s and my daughter will stay down in a virtually all packed up place to take care of our kitties for almost 3 weeks.

With my parent’s getting older I will be closer to them if they need me. My daughter’s Dr’s believe a much smaller community and being closer to her grandparent’s would be better for her and with rent being quite a bit cheaper. I believe I have made a good decision. I hope!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. El Guapo
    May 02, 2015 @ 19:01:38

    That’s great to hear. Here’s to whatever comes next.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

