Online dating etiquette….

online

Ok, people I think I’m just about ready to put myself out there again.

Just for dating,,no long term relationships but to just get out there and meet new people and men.

But just how to do this is the question?

I don’t like to go to dance clubs or loud bars and at my age they just seem to have lots of overaged wannabe’s and drunkards.

I could go to the pub,,,but I feel all weird sitting at the bar by myself and it’s a bit costly.

So I decided to go the way all the “cool” kids are going and that’s the online dating way. Now, I’m not exactly “clueless” to this, I have been on a few in the past.

I have been on Match.com and most that got in touch with me were thos catfish Nigerians,,,no thanks. Plus, I don’t feel the need to pay to meet someone.

So, I made a profile on POF (Plenty of Fish).

pof

My question to you my friends is what is the proper etiquette on who exactly makes the first move. Is it proper for the man to message a woman or is it ok for the woman to take the “plunge” and message the man?

What are the “rules” and what are some of your go to “ice breakers of pick up lines”???

Give it to me, my people!

 

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Darling and Sir
    Feb 27, 2014 @ 15:59:52

    I have no advice for you as I’ve never done it, but the best of luck to you.

    ~ Darling

    Reply

  2. merbear74
    Feb 27, 2014 @ 16:04:58

    I say go for it, Nicole. It’s 2014, and your hair is freshly washed. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Twindaddy
    Feb 27, 2014 @ 16:18:43

    Etiquette has no place on POF, I think.

    Reply

  4. El Guapo
    Feb 27, 2014 @ 16:27:03

    Good luck!
    Never used an online dating service, so I have nothing to offer.

    Have you thought about joining a meetup group? Might be a good way to meet people without having to rely on them being honest online.

    Reply

  5. goldfish
    Feb 27, 2014 @ 21:02:25

    Good for you. As to etiquette, I think it’s perfectly acceptable for women to contact men.

    Reply

  6. frogstale
    Feb 28, 2014 @ 10:42:40

    The rules are ‘there are no rules’. Do whatever you want. It is anonymous. You like the look of someone – contact them. If they aren’t interested they won’t contact you back. If they are they will. Simple as. If you get chatting and you like them and they like you – see them, if you don’t or they don’t – don’t! (seem them I mean). If you meet the right person it will just click.

    I met my second husband online, and it was great. Fallen apart now but that wasn’t due to the way we met rather than life having a way of intervening. Crap happens however you meet.

    Have fun, don’t take it seriously, see it as a way of meeting people you would never have met any other way. If it works for you that is fantastic, if it doesn’t – you haven’t really lost anything have you.

    Enjoy!

    (ps will follow your blog as we seem to have some ‘interests’ in common! FT

    Reply

    • overitblogdotcom
      Feb 28, 2014 @ 14:18:15

      Wow,,yes we do seem to have alot in common!.
      I haven’t posted about it yet, but I too have been married twice, and my 2nd husband was very much different from my first emotionally abusing husband.
      I thought he was the love of my life but because of situations beyond my control and for the safety of my children I had to leave him.
      It was very sad.
      I too look forward to following your blog! If I can ask where are you located? I’m in Barrie, ON Canada.
      P.S. Thanks for the “etiquette online dating” advice, I see it the same way as you. Alas,,I haven’t even got a response yet,lol….

      Reply

      • frogstale
        Feb 28, 2014 @ 20:08:04

        Just wait, you will. And if you don’t – they aren’t the right person for you. Would love to ‘chat’. I keep myself pretty anonymous on here though – fear of legal retribution from the ex if he were to find out what I have been saying about him – albeit anonymously. Not sure how you private message on here. Maybe if you give me your email address and I can contact you that way. Would love to have a gossip! FT

      • overitblogdotcom
        Mar 01, 2014 @ 01:40:07

        Sure I totally understand about the anonymous stuff.
        My blog is somewhat off the grid although if someone wants to find it i’m sure they could.
        My email is nikkix2@live.ca . Would love to hear from you!

      • frogstale
        Mar 02, 2014 @ 03:58:51

        Just sent an email – check your junk mail in case it lands there! FT

      • overitblogdotcom
        Mar 04, 2014 @ 13:23:09

        I got it and sent you one back 🙂

  7. Glenn.A
    Mar 01, 2014 @ 08:39:01

    Nothing wrong with being the first one to message a girl. My only advice to you is to make sure you market yourself right. Your username, your pictures – basically your whole profile has to be interesting enough for others to message you. Good luck on your dating!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

