How to Become a Battered Woman

I love, love, LOVE this post. This woman explained how abuse can quietly sneak up on you.

The View from a Drawbridge

My whole life I’ve looked at battered women with sadness and pity, but I have to admit that I always viewed them with a certain level of disdain. I’d never let that happen to me. Never. How do you get in that position? How do you let someone disrespect you like that, harm you like that, and yet not walk away? I could never put up with that from anyone.

But I learned a very hard lesson recently, one that makes me look at battered women in a whole new light. What I’ve never realized is that it’s a quiet, creeping progression. It’s not like a woman gets beaten on the first date and decides that she’s going to live with that person happily ever after. No. You start off as one person, and somehow, slowly over time, you change. Then one day you look up and you say to…

View original post 1,505 more words

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The View from a Drawbridge
    Nov 03, 2013 @ 21:53:04

    Awww, thank you for your support! It means a great deal to me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

